West Bengal State Government Holiday List 2021

Official Holiday Notification: 

List I (Public Holidays in 2021 under the N. I. Act)

Name of Holidays Date Day
Birth Day of Swami Vivekananda 12th January Tuesday
** Birth Day of Netaji 23rd January Saturday
Republic Day 26 January Tuesday
Saraswati Puja[Sree Panchami] 16th February Tuesday
Yearly Closing of Bank Account 1st April Thursday
(for Banks only, )
Good Friday 02nd April Friday
Birth Day of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar 14th April Wednesday
Bengali New Year's Day(Nababarsha) 15th April Thursday
** May Day 01st May Saturday
ld-UI-Fitar 14th May Friday
Buddha Purnima 26th May Wednesday
ld-Ud-Zoha( Bakrid) 21st July Wednesday
Muharram 19th August Thursday
**Birth Day of Gandhiji 2nd October Saturday
Mahalaya 06th October Wednesday
Durgapuja Saptami 12th October Tuesday
Durgapuja Astami 13th October Wednesday
Durgapuja Nabami 14th October Thursday
Durgapuja Dasami 15th October Friday
Lakshmi Puja 20th October Wednesday
Kali Puja 4th November Thursday
Birth Day of Guru Nanak 19th November Friday
** Christmas Day 25th December Saturday

List II (Holidays under the order of State Govt in 2021

Name of Holidays Date Day
New Year's Day 01st January Friday
Additional Day of Saraswati Puja 17th February Wednesday
Shivaratri 11th March Thursday
Holi(Day after Doljatra) 29th March Monday
**Additional day of ld-Ul-Fltar 15th May Saturday
Rathayatra 12th July Monday
Birth day of Poet Bhanu Bhakt
(for Darjeeling & Kalimpong
District only)
13th July Tuesday
Janmastami 30th August Monday
Additional day of Durgapuja
11th October Monday
Additional day in connection
with Durgapuja
18th October Monday
Fateha-Dwaz-Daham 19th October Tuesday
Additional day in connection
with Lakshmi Puja
21st October Thursday
Additional day in connection
with Lakshmi Puja
22nd October Friday
Additional Day in connection
with Kali Puja
5th November Friday
**Bhatridwitya 6th November Saturday
Day before Chhat Puja 9th November Tuesday
Chhat Puja 10th November Wednesday

List III (Sectional Holidays in 2021)

Sab-e-Barat 30th March Tuesday(for Muslims only)
**Easter Saturday 3rd April Saturday(for Christians only)
Hul Diwas 30 June Wednesday [for Adivasi(Santal) only]
Karam Puja   To be notified later on.

The following Festivals/Occassions falls on Sundays,
Hence excluded from above list

Company Name: 
Parent Article: