List of Festivals in India for the year 2014

Festivals of India :

SI.NO Ocassion Date Day Applicability

National Festival

1 Republic Day 26 Jan Sunday All states and union territories.
2 Independence Day 15 Aug Friday All states and union territories.
3 Gandhi Jayanti 02 Oct Thursday All states and union territories.

Hindu Festival

4 Devotthan Ekadashi 07 January Tuesday Uttarakhand,Uttar Pradesh,Bihar,
and some parts of Rajasthan and
Madhya Pradesh
5 Bhogi 13 January Monday Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu,
Maharashtra
6 Pongal/Sankranti 14 January Tuesday Andaman & Nicobar, Andhra Pradesh,
Arunachal Pradesh, Assam (as Magh Bihu),
Bihar (as Makar Sankranti), Gujarat (as Uttarayan),
Karnataka, Orissa, Uttar Pradesh (as Makar Sankranti),
Maharashtra (as Makar Sankranti),
Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan
7 Uzhavar Thirunal
(Farmers' Day)
14 January Tuesday Tamil Nadu
8 Thiruvalluvar Day 16 January Thursday Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu
9 Vasant Panchami/Saraswati Puja 04 Fabruary Tuesday Orissa, Tripura, West Bengal,
Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra
10 Ratha Saptami 06 February Thursday Maharashtra, Goa,
Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka
11 Maha Shivaratri 27 February Thursday Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chandigarh, Bihar,
Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh,
Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala,
Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa,
Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh,
Tamil Nadu, West Bengal
12 Holi (Aka, Dol) 17 March Monday All states and territories except Karnataka,
Kerala, Nagaland, Mizoram,Goa,
Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu
13 Gudhi Padva/Ugadi Tamil Puthaandu 31 March Monday Maharashtra, Goa, Andhra Pradesh,
Karnataka, Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu
14 Ram Navami 08 April Tuesday Maharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh,
Assam, Bihar, Chandigarh, Delhi, Gujarat,
Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir,
Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan,
Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh,
West Bengal
15 Hanuman Jayanti 15 April Tuesday Maharashtra, Orissa, Karnataka,
Uttar Pradesh (as Bada Mangal)
16 Akshay Tritiya 01 May Thursday Maharashtra, Goa, Andhra Pradesh,
Karnataka,Kerala,Tamil Nadu
17 Naag Panchami or Guga-Navami     All states and territories except Goa
18 Maharishi Parasuram Jayanti 01 May Thursday Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh
19 Bonalu 29 June Sunday Andhra Pradesh
20 Rath Jatra 29 June Sunday Orissa
21 Raksha Bandhan (Aka, Rákhi Púrńimá) 10 August Sunday Andhra Pradesh,Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh,
West Bengal, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand,
Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Bihar, Haryana,
Orissa, Punjab,Maharashtra
22 Krishna Janmashtami 18 August Monday Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,
Chandigarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana,
Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir,
Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan,
Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh,
Maharashtra, West Bengal
23 Hartalika Teej 28 August Thursday Maharashtra, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh,
Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh
24 Ganesh Chaturthi 29 August Friday Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh,
Maharashtra, Orissa, Pondicherry,
Tamil Nadu, Karnataka
25 Nuakhai 30 August Saturday Orissa
26 Onam 07 September Sunday Kerala, Pondicherry
27 Raja Parba     Orissa
28 Visvakarma Puja 17 September Wednesday Orissa, West Bengal
29 Mahalaya 23 September Tuesday Karnataka, West Bengal, Assam, Orissa
30 Bathukamma 24 September Wednesday Andhra Pradesh
31 Dussehra (Aka, Durgá Pujá) 03 October Friday All states

holiday for 2 days in Andhra Pradesh, Bihar,
Kerala, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu,
Maharashtra, Karnataka, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh
holiday for 3 days in Orissa, Assam,
Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Tamil Nadu,
and Tripura
holiday for 6 days in West Bengal
11th day Bhashani Utchhav in Orissa

32 Kumara Purnima (aka Kojaagari Pornima) 08 October Wednesday Maharashtra (as Kojaagari Pornima),
Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan,
Uttar Pradesh, Chhatisgarh, West Bengal.
33 Diwali (Aka, Káli Puja and Diipávali) 23 October Thursday All states and territories

observed for 2 days in Assam,
West Bengal, Karnataka, Orissa,
observed for 5 days in Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh,
Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh
observed for 6 days in Maharashtra

34 Chhath 29 October Wednesday Bihar, Jharkhand,
Uttar Pradesh
35 Jagaddhatri Puja 01 November Saturday West Bengal

Islamic Festivals*

36 Shab-e-Barat
Mid-Sha'ban
07 June Saturday Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana, Delhi,
Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Jharkhand,
West Bengal, Assam, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh,
Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Maharashtra,
Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
37 Eid ul-Fitr
Eid/Ramazan Id
End of Ramadan
29 July Tuesday all states and territories
38 Eid al-Adha
Bakr-Id
Feast of the Sacrifice
06 October Monday all states and territories
39 Day of Ashura
10th Muharram. Death of Imam Hussain ibn Ali
03 November Monday All States & Territories.
40 Birthday of Ali ibn Abi talib
Terah Rajab
Hazrat Ali
    Uttar Pradesh and Bihar
41 Jumat-ul-Wida
Alvida
Last Friday in Ramadan
    Jammu & Kashmir, Uttarakhand,
Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh

Christian Festival

42 Good Friday 18 April Friday all states and territories except Chhattisgarh,
Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh,
Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan
and Tripura
43 Easter Sunday 20 April Sunday all states and territories except Chhattisgarh,
Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh,
Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan and Tripura
44 Christmas Day 25 December Thursday All states and territories

Sikh Festival

45 Guru Gobind Singh Ji Gurpurab 07 January Tuesday Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
46 Vaisakhi 14 April Monday Andaman & Nicobar, Assam, Chandigarh,
Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh,
Jammu & Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra,
Nagaland, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand,
Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal
47 Martyrdom of Guru Arjan Dev Ji 16 June Sunday Punjab
48 Guru Nanak Gurpurab 06 November Thursday Andaman & Nicobar, Assam, Chandigarh,
Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh,
Jammu & Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra,
Nagaland, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand,
Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Orissa,
Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Jharkhand

Buddhist Festival

49 Losar 02 March Sunday Sikkim, Ladakh
50 Buddha Purnima 14 May Wednesday Andaman & Nicobar, Arunachal Pradesh,
Tripura, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi,
Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir,
Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Mizoram,
Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal

Jain Festival

51 Mahavir Jayanti 13 April Sunday Andaman & Nicobar, Bihar, Chandigarh,
Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh,
Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa,
Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand,
Uttar Pradesh,

Jain Festival

52 Nowruz
(Parsee New Year)
18 August Monday Gujarat, Maharashtra

Ravidassia holidays

53 Guru Ravidass Jayanti 14 February Friday Chandigarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab,
Delhi, Rajasthan,Jammu & Kashmir, Maharashtra,
Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Assam, Madhya Pradesh.

Ayyavazhi holidays

54 Ayya Vaikunda Avataram 04 October Saturday Tamil Nadu

Secular holidays

55 New Year's Day 01 January Wednesday Most of India
56 Bihu
(Assamese New Year)
14 January Tuesday Assam
57 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose's Jayanti 23 January Thursday Orissa, Tripura, West Bengal
58 Chatrapati Shivaji's Jayanti 19 February Wednesday Maharashtra
59 Kanshi Ram's Jayanti 15 March Saturday Uttar Pradesh
60 Bihar Day 22 March Saturday Bihar
61 Rajasthan Day 30 March Sunday Rajasthan
62 Cheti Chand
(Sindhi New Year)
31 March Monday Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra,
Rajasthan, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
63 Utkal Dibasa
(Orissa day)
01 April Tuesday Orissa
64 Dr. B. R. Ambedkar's Jayanti 14 April Monday Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chandigarh, Gujarat,
Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala,
Maharashtra, Orissa, Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu,
Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal
65 Maha Vishuva Sankranti / Pana Sankranti
(Oriya New Year)
14 April Monday Orissa
66 Pohela Boishakh
(Bengali New Year)
14 April Monday Tripura, West Bengal
67 Vishu / Varusha Pirappu or Puthandu
(Malayali & Tamil New Year)
14 April Monday Kerala, Tamil Nadu
68 Labour Day 1 May Thursday Assam, Bihar, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur,
Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal, Orissa
69 Maharashtra Day 01 May Thursday Maharashtra
70 Gujarat Day 01 May Thursday Gujarat
71 Annexation Day 16 May Friday Sikkim
72 Maharana Pratap Jayanti 15 June Sunday Rajasthan
73 Valmiki Jayanti 08 October Wednesday Karnataka
74 Naraka Chaturdasi 22 October Wednesday Karnataka
75 Diwali 23 October Thursday WHOLE INDIA
76 Accession Day 26 October Sunday Jammu and Kashmir
77 Sardar Patel Jayanti 31 October Friday Gujarat
78 Andhra Pradesh Foundation Day 1 November Saturday Andhra Pradesh
79 Madhya Pradesh Foundation Day 1 November Saturday Madhya Pradesh
80 Karnataka Foundation Day 1 November Saturday Karnataka
81 Kerala Foundation Day 1 November Saturday Kerala
82 Chhattisgarh Foundation Day 1 November Saturday Chhattisgarh
83 Kanaka Jayanti 10 November Monday Karnataka
84 Armed Forces Flag Day 07 December Sunday Indian military

* These festivals are depends on the sighting of the Moon.